Located in the heritage-listed old Sunnywest Butter Factory, the Busselton Historic Museum is home to a fascinating collection of photographs, furniture, clothing and farm machinery.
Artefacts from the early days of settlement, including a washstand and basin used by Captain John Molloy on his military campaigns in Europe in the early 1800s, are just some of the unique items people will discover during a visit to the museum.
Situated next to the Vasse River, the history of the museum site stretches back to 1832 when land in the vicinity of the river on Geographe Bay was selected by members of the original 1830 settlement at Augusta.
In 1834 the Bussells, Laymans, Chapmans and Dawsons transferred to this Vasse area where the more open country promised easier farming prospects, and where the port and township of Busselton later developed.
A number of smaller buildings, including a group settlement house, dairy and school, dot the picturesque riverbank adding to the site’s significant history.
There are relics of the Group Settlement Scheme which commenced in the region in 1923, and a working model of the Barrabup timber mill.
The collection includes the steam-driven paddle boat ‘Jumna’ which operated on the Vasse River, a medical hut from the World War Two aerodrome in Busselton and the Ambergate telephone exchange building and automatic exchange.